Please plan to attend the Cornea Society/Eye Bank Association of America 2015 Fall Educational Symposium
Friday, November 13, 2015

Las Vegas, Nevada

The one-day symposium is designed to provide corneal surgeons, eye bank personnel and vendors with the latest scientific developments on corneal surgery and eye banking.

  • Cite current research finding on a variety of corneal surgeries, including keratoplasties and keratoprotheses;
  • Assess variation in lamellar surgical techniques, including potential risks and benefits and proper patient selection methods;
  • Describe current understanding of key issues related to corneal donor tissue selection, procurement, preparation, and rejection; and
  • Analyze efficacy of emerging technologies and therapeutics in corneal surgery.

The following awards are given out during the Symposium recognizing the leaders in the field of cornea.

Dohlman Award (Cornea Society Award)

The Dohlman Award is given to recognize a lifetime of teaching excellence in the field of cornea and external disease and for contributions to the profession. Claes Dohlman, MD, PhD, the inaugural recipient of the Award and for whom it is named, created the first formal corneal fellowship program in the United States at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and the Retina Foundation (now Schepens Eye Research Institute) in Boston. Dr. Dohlman has trained hundreds of fellows, many of whom went on to become full professors. His commitment to teaching and education has enabled many of his students to leave their mark on the field of ophthalmology.

Paton Award: (Eye Bank Association of America Award)

The recipient of the Paton Award presents the Paton lecture during the Fall Educational Symposium. The Paton Award is the EBAA's highest honor for corneal surgeons, and is presented annually to an ophthalmologist in recognition of his/her outstanding contribution to the EBAA's development and for exemplifying the precepts of R. Townley Paton, M.D., the father of modern eye banking and the founder of the first eye bank established in the United States.

Troutman Cornea Award (Cornea Society Award)

Dr. Richard Troutman, one of the founders of the Castroviejo Cornea Society and its second president, has graciously established the Troutman Cornea Prize. The award is bestowed annually by the Society for the paper published in Cornea during the previous year judged to be most outstanding and innovative, and authored by an investigator 40 years of age or younger. The recipient will receive an award of $5,000 and the opportunity to present his/her work at the annual scientific meeting of the Cornea Society just prior to the AAO meeting.

About US

Eye Bank Association of America

The vision of the EBAA is the restoration of sight worldwide. The oldest transplant association in the United States, the EBAA is the nationally-recognized accrediting body for eye banks. Since 1961, EBAA member banks have restored sight to over 1,500,000 individuals

Call for Submissions

The Cornea Society was founded in 1975 in recognition of the contributions of its namesake, Ramon Castroviejo, MD, a consummate educator and a pioneer in corneal transplantation. The Society has fostered the exchange of information about the cornea and anterior segment of the eye through scientific meetings, communications, and a quality scientific journal and newsletter. It thrives today as an international organization dedicated to the advancement of knowledge about the cornea and external eye and serves as the collective voice of corneal specialists globally and with governmental agencies domestically.

Call for Submission

The call for Submission will open in July 2015 and remain open for 6 weeks closing in late August. We encourage all those interested in presenting a paper at the Symposium to watch this site for more details on the submission period.

Corporate Support

We are currently seeking unrestricted educational grants in support of this program. Interested parties should contact Gail Reggio at greggio@CorneaSociety.org


Registration for this meeting will open in mid-July for more information visit www.restoresight.org or www.corneasociety.org

Planning committee

The Planning Committee for the Fall Educational Symposium is made up of representatives from the Cornea Society and the Eye Bank Association of America.